International Relations: News Sources
Top International News
News Databases
The following databases can be used to search multiple news publications at one time. GVSU subscribes to databases containing multiple publications through vendors. The vendors EBSCO and ProQuest support selecting/searching multiple databases at once.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources is a research platform that unites Gale's digital archives. The platform allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in multiple collections including:
Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Indigenous Peoples of North America, Sabin Americana, The Economist Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, and Women's Studies Archive - Newsbank This link opens in a new windowA historical collection that contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
GVSU Libraries own or subscribe to the following collections through Newsbank:
Access World News, Twentieth-Century Global Perspecitves: World Protest and Reform Movements*, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives (1941-1996)*, American Race Relations*, Archive of Americana, and America's Historical Newspapers*
*Included in Readex AllSearch - Westlaw This link opens in a new windowCovers state and federal case law and statutes and regulations, the Code of Federal Regulations. Federal Register, American Jurisprudence 2nd, American Law Reports and law reviews.
EBSCO
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Use the 'Choose Databases' link above the search bar to add additional databases to your search.
EBSCO news databases not linked above include: newswires, web news, Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, Forbes Archive, Fortune Magazine Archive, Life Magazine Archive, Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive, Time Magazine Archive, Vanity Fair Magazine Archive
ProQuest
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowUse this to search extensive back files of the following newspapers at once: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, Detroit Free Press, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier.
Use the drop down menu in the top left corner of the page to access the 'Change databases' link and add additional databases to your search
ProQuest news databases not linked above include: Alt-PressWatch, GenderWatch, Trends & Policy: U.S. Immigration News, Women's Magazine Archive
Newspapers
These links will take you to the most up to date access we have for these publications. To find the rest of the library's holdings for these publications, or to search for others, click on "Journals" under the main library search box, search the title you're interested in, and click on "Full text access."
- Associated PressFor more Associated Press go to the News section of the Westlaw database and follow the Wires link under News By Type.
News Websites
External Guides
- Last Updated: Mar 22, 2024 2:35 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/ir
