CAP 115: Research Basics for Advertising and PR: Articles/Databases
Create your Search statements
In Ad & PR, trade publications are valued types of information resources along with scholarly journal articles. Case studies, best practices, industry reports, market intelligence research, media data and costs, audience or target market data, campaign videos, or public opinion polls may be useful as well.
To get good info, write down your research main ideas, then list your concepts and synonyms. Now apply your keywords in databases using the linked Word document below, noting options like date, language, subject terms, and advanced features like the drop-down options at the end of the search boxes which let you be more specific about where the words will be searched. This process of finding information will save you time and improve your sources!
- CAP 115 Databases ExerciseFor in-person/face-to-face library session. Download, fill out, email to firstname.lastname@example.org
- CAP 115 Databases Worksheet for asynchronous sectionsGoogle Doc for asynchronous sections (has examples)
Download, fill out, email to email@example.com
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournal articles & more on advertising & public relations. Use Choose Databases to include Academic Search Ultimate, Communication Source, and others that relate to your topic.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ProQuest Business Premium) This link opens in a new windowThis business database includes articles, campaigns, case studies, country info, company financial data and profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
- WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new windowAdvertising database includes case studies, best practices, market intelligence, major brands, ad/spend statistics, demographics, & campaign videos in all areas of marketing communications.
- ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new windowjournal articles on all aspects of communication-related topics, including advertising & public relations
- SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new windowMedia listings by type, DMA, & audience: contacts, costs, & data. Nielsen segmentation and Market Solutions section includes Lifestyle Ranking, Market Potential, Demographics, & PRIZM.
Claritas 360 works best with Microsoft Edge or Chrome
- Build Your Search StrategyThis short video explains how to develop a search strategy before finding books and media or articles in databases. These concepts are universal and apply to any search.
- Searching Google ScholarCompares searching Google to databases
Search tips for finding articles
- use "quotation marks" around phrases
- truncate - shorten a word to its trunk or root to get alternate endings - with an asterisk * (shift 8), e.g., truncat* finds truncate, truncated, truncation
- apply Boolean connector AND to combine unlike ideas, e.g., dance AND promotion
- apply Boolean connector OR to connect synonyms, e.g., advertisements OR campaigns
Put it all together:
- "hip hop dance" in one box
- AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns) in the next box
- use parentheses in single-box searching - when you don't have another set of boxes, e.g.,:
- "hip hop dance" AND (promot* OR advertis* OR campaigns)
Use the left or right menus to narrow your results, e.g., by language, date, subject, etc.
Databases have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine, volume and issue (which correspond to the date), date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often cite multiple types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the complete item (called the full text): you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. Or click on - this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
what kind of journal is this?
When researching, you will come across a variety of different types of journals. Most journals and magazines fall into one of the following three categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications. This table will show you how to find out how to tell the difference between these types of journals.
|Scholarly Journals||Popular Journals||Trade Journals|
|Purpose||Informs/reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.<||Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.||Reports on industry trends, new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.|
|Authors||Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.||Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.||Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.|
|Audience||Intended for a limited audience - mainly researchers, scholars, and experts.||Appeals to a broad segment of the population.||Intended for people in a particular profession, business, or industry.|
|Appearance||Simple cover design, few images or ads. May include charts, graphs, data.||Glossy, colorful, many images and lots of advertising.||Often glossy paper; images/advertisements relate to specific field or profession.|
|Article length||Tend to be lengthy, may include original research, in-depth analysis, very specific focus.||Typically brief, from less than 1 page to several pages.||Short to medium length articles.|
|Content||Original research, literary criticism and theory, literature review, in-depth analysis of topic.||Short, feature-length articles, news and general interest topics.||Articles about professional trends, new products or techniques, industry-related news.|
|Writing style||Use terminology, language and jargon relevant to the discipline.||Simple language used, written for general public.||Technical, field-specific language used, assumes reader familiar with industry.|
|References||Articles typically include references, notes, works cited.||Articles typically do not have references.||Articles sometimes have references.|
- Last Updated: Feb 20, 2023 8:42 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/cap115